Home > Journalism, Technology > Has Google got news for you

Has Google got news for you

So I logged into WordPress this morning for a quick look at what’s going on and by chance spotted one of the featured blogs and the intriguing headline: 10 reasons why Google just reinvented online communication.

“Yeah, right”, I thought.

So I read, and I followed the links, and then I watched the video:

Two hours later I sat back and took a deep breath.

OH

MY

GOD

Google Wave is a radical step forward, and even better, it’s open source.

First of all I watched this as a computer-user, sick and tired of continually switching between my e-mail, IM, browser and blog, either in windows or in tabs.

Then I watched this as a content producer, a writer and began to ask myself about how the dissemination of information would be changed by a toolkit such as this, not just between friends or colleagues, but between a media organisation and their audience.

The whole video  is very interesting, but if you haven’t got a spare 90 minutes, check out some highlights including – blogging (0:20), accountability (0:33), concurrent editing/collaboration (0:35), spell checking and linking (0:45), productivity tools (0:50), twittering (1:00) and translation tools (1:13).

The whole landscape suddenly took on a whole new view – there’s a party coming and everyone online is invited.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

